Central Arizona College awards Superstition students

Central Arizona College recently held a student awards ceremony at its Superstition Mountain Campus in Apache Junction to recognize students for their outstanding achievements. Nathaniel Bush was named the campus’s Most Engaged Student of the Year and Joseph Dutra received Outstanding First Year Student honors.

The college honored Patrick Roberts with the Outstanding Early College Student Award. In addition to the student awards, Stacie Kyhn, professor of mathematics, was awarded the Faculty of the Year Award for her work in the classroom and dedication to students. The Superstition Mountain Rotary International Club presented scholarships to five CAC students: Cami Bast, Alejandra Cano, Danielle Moore, Autumn Miller and Olivia Jaqua.

Other awards presented included: Perseverance Award to Ernest Bracamont, Lucia Dan Taylor-King, Lynn Ramm; Outstanding Veteran Academic/Service Award to Kyle Weigert, Stephanie Ward; EMT Student of the Year Award, Kathy Matthews; Outstanding English Student, Mitzi Cervantes; Outstanding Honors Student, Olivia Jaqua; Outstanding English Student, Roland Gonzalez,; Noether-Leibniz Math Award, Kyle Weigert; Pascal-Somerville, Math Award, Ariel Taylor, Kayden Bunney; Outstanding Phi Theta Kappa Student, Alejandra Cano, Stacy Bliss-Lefebvre, Best Physical Science Student, Osvaldo “Ozzy” Gavirati; Massage Therapy Student of the Year, Taylor Harbin; Outstanding Social and Behavioral Sciences Student, Nathaniel Bush, Andrew Taylor.
More awards presented included: Outstanding CIS Networking Student, Jose Candia; Superstition Mountain Campus Tutor of the Year, Carly Thalman; All-Arizona Academic Team, Nathaniel Bush – All Arizona/USA Academic Team Honors and Coca Cola Silver Scholar; 2014-15 Student Public Policy Organization Award, Stacy Bliss-Lefebvre; Recognition for Student Leadership Team; Arcilia “RC” Garcia; 2014-15 Executive Coordinator, Ashley Smith – 2014-15 Administrative Coordinator, Michael Windmueller – 2014-15 Correspondence Coordinator, Nathaniel Bush – 2014-15 Publicity Coordinator, Nicholas “Ketchup” Ketcherside – 2014-15 Community/Club Outreach Coordinator, Stacy Bliss-Lefebvre – 2014-15 Special Events Coordinator
In addition to the individual awards, students were honored by Who’s Who Among American Junior College Students: Alejandra Cano, Angelique Abbott, Arcilia “RC” Garcia, Ashley Smith, Autumn Miller, Bijaun Arnold, Bonna Hamilton, Cami Bast, Danielle Moore, Gigi Anderson, Jacob Higginbottom, Jasmine Flore, Jeremy Williams, Jose Candia, Joseph Dutra, Marilyn Carter, Michael Windmueller, Morgan Pedersen, Nathaniel Bush, Bicholas Ketcherside, Olivia Jaqua, and Stacy Bliss-Lefebvre.

The Apache Junction Independent is mailed each month to 35,000 homes.

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.

Facebook Comment